Controversial parenting

I have seen lots of Youtubers doing this tag as well as some other bloggers, although nobody has tagged me I’ve decided to do it. Everyone is entitled to an opinion and we must respect that not everybody is of the same one. So, let’s get started.

Pro-life Vs. Pro-choice
I am 100% pro-choice. I believe every woman should have the choice on what they want to do with their body. Obviously, if women are using abortion as a form of contraceptive then that is wrong on many levels and I do not agree with that. Other than that a woman should be able to make a decision based on her own circumstances.

Baby Wearing
I’m not sure why anybody would be against this one? I didn’t baby wear Thomas and it’s something I’ve wished I had done. It encourages a closer bond between mum and baby and allows you to be hands free, what’s not to like?!

Circumcision
Now I know this is done in some countries for religious reasons but here in the UK it isn’t really the done thing. I for one would not opt for this and personally I think it is unnecessary. Female circumcision I absolutely 100% disagree with, there is no reason for it and it is medically dangerous.

Adoption
I don’t have a lot of people in my life that have experience with adoption, but I know that it can be such a beautiful, yet heart wrenching journey to adopt. It’s one of the most selfless acts any parent can take part in for their child. I admire anyone who chooses to adopt.

Baby Piercing
I cannot get my head around why anybody would want to do this. It causes unnecessary pain to a baby, some people say it makes them look cute – if you want your kid to look cute then stick a bow on its head! Β When I was a child we had moon and star shaped stickers to use, haha!

Breast Milk Vs. Formula
I’m not against either, I formula fed my baby and he is healthy and happy. If you can breastfeed your child then great, if you can’t or simply don’t want to then that is fine. Fed is best, as long as you child is well nourished and fed you don’t have a thing to worry about.

Spanking
Children can be difficult, their tantrums can push you to your limits and drive you to insanity. All that being said we do not use spanking as a form of discipline. I’m not going to judge anyone that does do it but it just isn’t for us.

Co-sleeping
Thomas will be 3 in October and there has only been 1 time that we have shared a bed. He was violently sick in his bed and it scared me so I put him in with us. Up until he was 9 months old he slept in our room, firstly in his moses basket and then into a small cot. He’s always been a great sleeper and sleeping in our bed has never been necessary. I can see how it would work well with breastfeeding but as we formula fed it wasn’t something we had to do.

Home Vs. Public Vs. Private Vs. Charter Schooling
I admire anyone who has the patience to home school their kids! For one I’m simply not clever enough to do so! Private schooling I have nothing against and I have friends whose kids go to private school, if I could afford it then it would be something I would look into. However, Thomas will be attending public school and I am just as happy with that decision.

Vaccinations
Thomas has had all of his vaccinations, we have paid extra for him to have the MenB jab too. I had all vaccines offered to me whilst pregnant and with any future pregnancies, I would do the same. I don’t understand why anybody would choose not to vaccinate to protect both themselves and their baby.

Medicating Children
If a doctor has advised that your child should take medication for whatever reason, then I believe that they know best and you should take their advice. I’ve never been in a position where Thomas has needed to be medicated (well apart from calpol!) but if the time ever did come, I would take the advice of the doctors.

Cloth Vs. Disposable diapers
I don’t really have an opinion on this matter, we used disposables and never considered using cloth.

CIO Method
I’ve never done this and never would, people used to say to me ‘oh you’re spoiling him’ you can’t spoil a baby in my opinion, especially not with cuddles! We’ve never had a problem with Thomas’ sleep, but even if we did I wouldn’t consider using CIO.

Well there you go, my opinions on all the topics in the tag. As I said earlier everyone has a different opinion and the world would be a boring place if we were all of the same ones.

Thanks for reading,

Louise xx

5 thoughts on “Controversial parenting

  1. There are traditions and there is logic. If we have a choice to make, we should make an informed logical one, even if it goes against the traditions.

    Like

  2. I think you hit every controversial issue haha neat reading your opinions. I think the way we chose to parent is just that OUR choice. I think just about everything gets attacked now a days so you’ve just got to roll with and go with what you believe in.

    Like

Leave a Reply

